Elections


UOCAVA – Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act (PDF)

Photo ID (Identification) – Now Required

By the North Carolina General Assembly. Voters will now be asked to show photo ID when voting in person and via absentee ballot.

Complete information can be found on our Photo ID webpage.

Early Voting for the 2024 Primary Election
Location:

Courtroom C (in the “new” courthouse)
Governmental Complex
2801 Caratoke Highway
Currituck, North Carolina  27929

Dates:

Thursday, February 15, 2024 – Saturday, March 2, 2024

Times:

Monday – Friday  |  8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Saturday, March 2, 2024  |  8:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Currituck County Board of Elections Notice of Primary Election

Absentee Vote By Mail Voting

Registered voters in North Carolina must request an absentee ballot with an official N.C. Absentee Ballot Request Form. There are two ways to access and submit the form online or print.

Upcoming Elections For Currituck County

Presidential Primary Election:
Tuesday, March 5, 2024

Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Election Day.

Voter Registration Deadlines: 

Civilian Voters: February 9, 2024 | 5:00 p.m.
25-day Civilian deadline to register to vote for the March 5, 2024 primary election is Friday, February 9, 2024 at 5:00 p.m..

Military & Overseas Voters: March 4, 2024 | 5:00 p.m.
If you are a military or overseas voter, the voter registration deadline for the March 5, 2024 primary election is March 4, 2024 at 5:00 p.m..

Presidential General Election:
November 5, 2024

Schedule of Absentee Board of Elections Meetings

The  Currituck County Board of Elections will meet (if necessary) to approve the applications for absentee ballots for the Primary Election to be held on Tuesday, March 05, 2024.

The meetings will be held at the Board of Election’s Office. Any other business transacted by the Board will be done at this time.

  • Tuesday, January 30, 2024  |  10:00 a.m.
  • Tuesday, February 6, 2024  |  5:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, February 13, 2024  |  10:00 a.m.
  • Tuesday, February 20, 2024  |  10:00 a.m.
  • Tuesday, February 27, 2024  |  10:00 a.m.
  • Monday, March 4, 2024  |  10:00 a.m.
  • Tuesday, March 12, 2024  |  10:00 a.m.
  • Wednesday, March 13, 2024  |  10:00 a.m.
  • Friday, March 15, 2024  |  10:00 a.m.

The Board will meet at 5:00 p.m. on Election Day, Tuesday, March 05, 2024, in order to count approved absentee ballots.