Board of Commissioners

Currituck County is governed by a seven-member Board of Commissioners, elected at-large in county-wide elections to serve four-year staggered terms. Five members must reside in specified districts, and two members are elected at-large. The Board elects a Chairman and Vice-Chairman at its December meeting.

The Board of Commissioners’ primary duties include:

  • adopting an annual budget;
  • establishing the annual property tax rate;
  • setting policies, goals, and objectives to direct the County’s growth and development;
  • adopting and providing for ordinances, regulations, and rules for the general welfare of County citizens;
  • entering into written contractual or legal obligations on behalf of the County;
  • appointing citizens to advisory boards and committees;
  • and carrying out other responsibilities as set forth by North Carolina General Statutes.

The Board of Commissioners meets on the first and third Monday at 6:00 p.m. of each month, unless the meeting schedule is changed due to holidays or other reasons.

The meetings are typically held in the Historic Currituck Courthouse Board Meeting Room, located on the second floor.

Regular Board meetings are open to the public.

Send the Board of Commissioners an email.