

July 21, 2021 Minutes – Special Meeting of the Board of Commissioners

6:00 PM CALL TO ORDER

The Currituck County Board of Commissioners held a Special Meeting with the Currituck County Board of Education to discuss Currituck County School expansion projects and general education matters. The Special Meeting took place in the Sanderlin Auditorium, Cooperative Extension Currituck Center, 120 Community Way, Barco, North Carolina.

Attendee Name	Title	Status Arrived
Michael H. Payment	Chairman	Present
Paul M. Beaumont	Vice Chairman	Absent
J. Owen Etheridge	Commissioner	Present
Mary "Kitty" Etheridge	Commissioner	Present
Selina S. Jarvis	Commissioner	Present
Kevin E. McCord	Commissioner	Present
Bob White	Commissioner	Absent

Chairman Payment called the meeting to order at 6:00 PM.

JOINT MEETING WITH BOARD OF EDUCATION-SCHOOL FACILITIES

County Manager, Ben Stikeleather, reviewed the design plans and layouts for the planned expansion and renovation projects at Moyock Elementary and Moyock Middle Schools. Mr. Stikeleather said the design for the kindergarten space at the elementary school will require a complete tear down while the Middle School expansion will consist of an addition being constructed on the back side of the building. The projects are set for completion by August, 2023.

Commissioners received information from Dr. Matt Lutz, Superintendent, on the school facilities study. Dr. Lutz projected a draft of the ten-year plan will be complete by the end of the July, 2021. Dr. Lutz reported more than half of the school system's positions have been filled, and Elementary schools were fully staffed by June, 2021.

ADJOURN

Motion to Adjourn Meeting

There was no further discussion and no further business. Chairman Payment moved to adjourn, and Commissioner McCord seconded the motion. The motion carried, 5-0, and the meeting was adjourned at 6:50 PM.

RESULT:	APPROVED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER:	Michael H. Payment, Chairman
SECONDER:	Kevin E. McCord, Commissioner
AYES:	Michael H. Payment, Chairman, J. Owen Etheridge, Commissioner, Mary "Kitty"
	Etheridge, Commissioner, Selina S. Jarvis, Commissioner, Kevin E. McCord,
	Commissioner
ABSENT:	Paul M. Beaumont, Vice Chairman, Bob White, Commissioner